LibGuides: Grade 4 Social Issues Unit: Women's rights

Fiction from our library collection

These are a few titles from our collection. You have two ways of finding more books that deal with bullying:

1. Go to grade 4's Visual Tab page on the library catalog and click on the button "Language Arts" then click on "Social Issues book lists." Choose your social issue for a list of fiction and non-fiction titles.

2. Enter any of the terms below in the main search page of the library catalog and choose "subject" from the buttons under the search field. If you only want fiction books, enter your topic and the word fiction, like this "racism fiction."

racism

prejudice

discrimination

segregation

Razia's Ray of Hope by Elizabeth Suneby; Suana Verelst (Illustrator)
Call Number: E Suneby
ISBN: 1554538165
Publication Date: 2013
Razia, a girl in Afghanistan, wants to attend Razia Jan's girls' school the Zabuli Education Center for Girls, but first she must get her father and brother's permission.
The Green Bicycle by Haifaa Al Mansour
Call Number: E Al-Mansour
ISBN: 9780525428060
Publication Date: 2015
Spunky eleven-year-old Wadjda lives in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia with her parents. She desperately wants a bicycle so that she can race her friend Abdullah, even though it is considered improper for girls to ride bikes. Wadjda earns money for her dream bike by selling homemade bracelets and mixtapes of banned music to her classmates. But after she's caught, she's forced to turn over a new leaf (sort of), or risk expulsion from school.
The Hope Chest by Karen Schwabach
Call Number: E-HISTORICAL Schwabach
ISBN: 9780375840951
Publication Date: 2008
When eleven-year-old Violet runs away from home in 1918 and takes the train to New York City to find her older sister who is a suffragist, she falls in with people her parents would call "the wrong sort," and ends up in Nashville, Tennessee, where "Suffs" and "Antis" are gathered, awaiting the crucial vote on the nineteenth amendment.

Non-fiction books from our collection

Here are a few non-fiction titles from our collection. To find more, enter any of the words below in the library catalog's search field:

women's rights
feminists

You Want Women to Vote, Lizzie Stanton? by Jean Fritz; DyAnne DiSalvo-Ryan (Illustrator)
Call Number: E 921 Stanton
ISBN: 0399227865
Publication Date: 1995
A biography of suffragist Elizabeth Cady Stanton from her childhood, to her fight for the end of slavery, to her death 18 years before women were granted the right to vote.
For the Right to Learn by Rebecca Langston-George; Janna Bock (Illustrator)
Call Number: E 371.822 LAN
ISBN: 9781623704261
Publication Date: 2015
She grew up in a world where women were supposed to be quiet. But Malala Yousafzai refused to be silent. She defied the Taliban's rules, spoke out for education for every girl, and was almost killed for her beliefs. This powerful true story of how one brave girl named Malala changed the world proves that one person really can make a difference.
Bloomers! by Rhoda Blumberg; Mary Morgan (Illustrator)
Call Number: E 305.42 BLU
ISBN: 0027116840
Publication Date: 1993
A story that is based on fact of women who tried to become liberated by wearing balloon trousers, later called "bloomers."

Useful database articles

"Women's Suffrage" on BrainPop
Tim and Moby talk how women gained the right to vote in the United States.

You may need to log in to view this BrainPop movie. Use the CAC Quick Login.
Children's Rights on Britannica Online
You may need to log in to Britannica to read this article. Use the CAC Quick Login.
"Women Who Dared" on Scholastic News
The article features the women who made history by standing up for women's rights in the U.S. Lilly Ledbetter, who worked for a tire company in Alabama for almost 20 years, took the company to court after learning that she was making much less money than her male co-workers just before her retirement in 1998. C.J. Walker, one of the most successful female entrepreneurs in history, developed hair and beauty products for African-American women. It states that Elizabeth Blackwell fought for the right to practice medicine.

Grade 4 Social Issues Unit: Women's rights

Fiction from our library collection

Non-fiction books from our collection

Useful database articles

Famous speeches