LibGuides: HS Research Resources: Chemistry

Science Direct journals

Science Direct
Many articles from this database may be behind the paywall, but we can get anything specific from other librarians, so please ask Mrs. Fitzgerald for help.

New Scientist

New Scientist
Online Magazine Subscription
To access: speak to the friendly LRC staff for login details.

Open Access Journals

OMICS International Journal
Provides a list of Open Access Journals by Subject.

Scroll down the page to see Chemistry Journals that allows free access to articles.

CAC Databases

Britannica Online
Starting at the easiest level of difficulty can help identify keywords and provide background information.
JSTOR
First you login under CAC and then set up your own account to use off campus.

A full list of our databases is on the home page of the the MHS library catalog. Log in with your CAC single-sign-on.

CAC community members can click here for a list of databases and login credentials. You must be on your school Google account to access.

Public Library for Science

Public Library of Science
"215,000+ peer-reviewed articles are free to access, reuse and redistribute."

Go to the Browse section to see collections of topics.

Science News for Students

Science News for Students
Hot topics in science right now.

Chemical Societies

American Chemical Society
To advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people.
Royal Society of Chemistry
We promote, support and celebrate chemistry
The world’s leading chemistry community, advancing excellence in the chemical sciences

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
Springer Open Source
Collection of peer-reviewed open source journals published by Springer.
Academic Journals
Over 100 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.
Arxiv from Cornell University
Journals and articles on physics, computer science, mathematics, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
EconBiz, from the Liepzig Center of Economics EconBiz is a subject portal for economics and business studies. It offers: - A literature search across important German and international databases, including the holdings of ZBW - Access to free and licensed full texts on the internet - A calendar of events for scholarly conferences and summer schools - The reference service Research Guide EconDesk which answers your questions about the search for literature and statistical data. - The section research skills with the online tutorial Guided Walk on how to search, evaluate and cite scholarly publications.
JURN
This is a database of free scholarly journals. The articles are not all peer-reviewed, so be careful and double check the information you find.
National Bureau of Economic Research Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals.
PLOS One Journal
PLOS (Public Library of Science) publishes a suite of influential journals from all areas of science and medicine that contain rigorously reported, peer-reviewed Open Access research articles.
RefSeek Currently in public beta, RefSeek is a WEB SEARCH ENGINE for students and researchers that aims to make academic information easily accessible to everyone. RefSeek searches more than one billion documents, including web pages, books, encyclopedias, journals, and newspapers.
more...less...
Academic search engine
SSRN - Social Sciences Research Network

HS Research Resources: Chemistry

Science Direct journals

New Scientist

Open Access Journals

CAC Databases

Public Library for Science

Science News for Students

Chemical Societies

Open Access Journals

Datasets from CAC IB Chemistry